The Witwatersrand Bird Club committee is comprised of a broad spectrum of members, each of whom is nominated at the AGM, publicly seconded and thereby appointed onto the committee. An honorary President is also annually elected at the AGM. Each committee member gives freely of their time in the interests of promoting and growing the club profile and membership, towards raising an awareness of birds, and to the overall conservation of indigenous birds.


A number of sub-committee’s exist within the club, all of which fall under the auspices of the club’s committee. These sub-committee’s facilitate the smooth running of the club and its activities.

Such sub-committee’s include:

  • Finance Exco
  • Programme Planning subcommittee


2020 Committee

Left to Right:  Koos van Dyk (Outgoing Chairman West Rand Satellite Club), Awie Coetzee (Chairman East Rand Satellite Club) back Alan Weideman (Incoming Chairman West Rand Satellite Club), Diana Cowan (Monthly Meetings), Karen Mitton (Programme Planning), back Andy Featherstone (Chairman), Sandy Goodall (Treasurer), Paige Simons (Facebook, Website), Fiona van Zyl (Courses), Lance Robinson (Honorary President), Dave (alternate for Ben Botha Henley-on-Klip Satellite Club)